Seriously, did that just happen?

Last night we experienced something I never thought would happen. We were on our way to dinner when our social worker called us out of the blue. My heart lept out of my chest and I answered. A baby boy was just born in OUR town. And she asked if we were interested. We said “YES!” What happened next was a heartbreak I have never felt. The birthmother had already figured out something else. We aren’t sure of the details but all this literally happened in 10 minutes while we were in the car. It was the craziest roller coaster we had ever been on. After the shock of this quick craziness wore off, we realized that there is a couple out there, just like us, who’s dreams came true last night.

It’s amazing how much day dreaming you can do in 10 minutes. That 10 minutes of thinking we might have a son was such a thrilling experience. I’m not sure I was breathing during those moments. When I finally broke down last night about it, I went straight to my bible and this verse was STARING me in the face:

But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint. (Isaiah 40:31 KJV)

God knew EXACTLY what I needed to hear at that exact moment I was so low. I had never been so grateful to go to sleep last night so we could wake up to a new day and start over. And that’s exactly what we are doing.

Love, Tara & Whitney

One thought on “Seriously, did that just happen?

  1. Don’t give up hope. I think of you everyday and pray that you two will be blessed with an opportunity. Sometimes the rug can be pulled out from under you quicker than you like, but other times the world over-delivers and fills your heart in a way you didn’t think was possible. I send my love, Tooty.

Leave a Reply

